This is where it all began. In 1980, The Northwest School welcomed its first students through the majestic doors of the 1905 Summit School building. The House—as we lovingly call it—was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1979, and has been declared an official City of Seattle landmark.
In 2006, a major renovation and expansion included the addition of classrooms, a computer lab, library, dance studio and photography lab.
Over 100 years old, our main building has retained its distinctive features. Above its arched entryway hangs The Northwest School sign, carved in 1982 by artist Richard Beyer.
The north and south ends of our main building are graced with wide staircases and oak bannisters, designed by well-known architect James Stephen in 1905.
Classrooms with Character
Our classrooms brim with personality. The walls are lively with art work, maps, portraits, wise sayings, and many are named after inspiring leaders.
Designed for flexibility, our Biology, Earth Science, Physics and Chemistry classrooms allow students the freedom to explore and engage in open ended science projects.
Our Founders Library, Reading Room, and Computer Lab give the NWS community access to a variety of information sources, including books, DVD's, audiobooks, library catalog and online databases.
Our Computer Lab is equipped with over 30 computers, a full presentation Smart Board, and two 3D printers.
A Home Away from Home
A favorite gathering space in our school is our 120 foot long first floor hallway. Roomy and comfortable, the space invites students to study, read, connect, or grab a ukulele hanging on the wall and play a few chords.